My # 1 Hair Problem

For a long time now, I’ve been doing my own hair rather than going to a hair salon to get it done. I’ve known how to do hair since the age of 9; Over the years, I’ve been practicing and perfecting my skills.

Since returning natural over two years ago, I’ve been putting my hair in protective styles and occasionally giving it a break by leaving it out. I realize that I liked switching up my hairstyles because it was fun, cute, and different. Anyone who knows me personally, knows that I change my hair often. My hairstyles do not last long at all!–and that’s my own fault.

Without a doubt, I have HIH…[hand in hair syndrome]. Self-diagnosis. It is what it is. My number one hair problem is that I change my hair too often! Because I know that I can do hair, I don’t ever worry about my styles lasting for a certain amount of time at all! This is not good because the point of protective styling is to preserve your natural hair from constant manipulation. My ever-changing hairstyles absolutely defeat the purpose of protective styling.

For the past three weeks I was rocking Havana twists. I’ve had them in since August 24th. I really wanted to take them out at the end of week 2, but instead, I redid the front to extend the longevity of this style for just one more week to make it three. Three weeks was up technically up yesterday (September 14th). I actually took on the twists Friday evening. I couldn’t wait a day more, shame on me.. But I had to walk through the rain on Friday during a random downpour without an umbrella, so it was only right to take my hair down and cleanse it immediately (excuse and justification, lol).

Anyhow, after taking them out finally, I spent the weekend installing some loc extensions, sister loc extensions to be exact. My goal is to keep this style in for at LEAST a month (4 weeks), but I am going to aim even higher for a month and a half (6 weeks). Yeah, now I know that is probably not long at all for some, but for me, it’s like a decade!

P.S: In the next post, I will give the specs on my sister loc extensions. Stay tuned!!!

7 thoughts on “My # 1 Hair Problem

  1. Have the same hand syndrome, I spend 3 hours putting in a protective style and 3 days later, wanna rock a twist out, LOL, it’s terrible but just can’t help it, ahhhhh, lol.
    Thanks for understanding girl but will try to be more disciplined from……………………………..Sunday, hehehe, that’s my wash day.
    Smiles!!!

Leave a Reply

