Crochet Micro Senegalese Twists

New Hair for the New Year!!!

Here goes my December post.. 🙂

I’ve been MIA all month-long since I haven’t had anything to post about and I’ve also been busy and focused on other things. Anyhow, this December post is happening right now, in the last hour of the last day of this month. Which means that in less than 60 minutes, it will be January 1st, 2014!!!

Currently, I am working on my January protective style: Crochet Micro Senegalese Twists. I know, I know…that’s a mouthful to say. I don’t even know if that is an official styles, but that’s the best way to describe what I’ve got going on here.

Below is my braid pattern:

Braid Pattern

Braid Pattern

I haven’t decided whether to sew the end (in the middle) down or not. Also, I would suggest doing the braids in the middle smaller and in an s-pattern rather than chunky braids. Also, to reduce even more tension, you can add synthetic hair to your braid pattern just as you would do a sew in. The only negative thing about that is the bulk it would add to the front when doing these twists. If you used marley hair or a thick/curly hair, it wouldn’t be as noticeable.

I used three packs of Xpressions hair (so far), and I cut them in half. I MIGHT have to purchase a fourth pack (tomorrow I ‘ll know for sure). I also used a bobby pin instead of a crochet needle. I’ve tried using the crochet needle (with closing-latch hook) this past April and it did not work out for me. I started off fine but with snagging my hair often in the needle. It was frustrating to use the crochet needle and I didn’t have the patience so I took out what I started and did some micro braids with the hair. After that, I told myself I wouldn’t try crochet braids again. So this is my first successful attempt at crochet braids, using a bobby pin and my tool of choice instead. It’s just easier for me.

So what changed my mind?

I wanted to install Senegalese twists for January, but I was concerned about the tension and pulling on my edges. I wanted to avoid or lessen breakage at all costs. So I figured crocheting these twists on would ease the tension. So I went on YouTube to see if anyone had done crochet braids with Senegalese twists, and I found a couple of women who did! So there, I put two and two together: crochet braiding and Senegalese twists. I also stumbled upon an alternative to the crochet method and heard about the bobby pin method. I didn’t search for any videos on it being done, I just envisioned it in my mind and knew how it should be done.

Below is the process:

Installing Crochet Senegalese Twists

Installing Crochet Micro Senegalese Twists

crochet twists

I find it faster to crochet an entire row (only in the front) at a time before twisting

  1. Take a small amount of hair and *stretch* it so that the ends are not blunt (this will help the ends from unraveling)
    *by stretching I mean pulling some strands in the opposite direction to make the ends uneven*
  2. Take the hair by the middle and slide it in the opening of the bobby pin all the way to the end
  3. Use one hand to hold the strands tightly (close to the middle where it bends) and with the bobby pin in other hand, take and push the closed end underneath your braid and pull through with the hair
  4. Remove the bobby pin from the hair and pull one of the strands through so that they are even on both sides
  5. *Twist the strands together
    *I used a spray bottle with water and spray the synthetic hair to give slip and twist faster..it helps my hands not use so much energy which made all of this pain-free! 🙂

I plan to finish up (hopefully) tomorrow and will have picture and finalize the information on how many packs of hair and how long it took some time later on.

UPDATES 1/1/14:

  • Step-by-step explanation above^^^plus detail edits
  • It will take more than three packs of Xpressions hair (for this length and thickness), but not an entire four packs
  • Still not finished, but good enough at least to go to work tomorrow 🙂
  • More pictures coming soon, stay tuned!!
The upper-middle is unfinished

The upper-middle is unfinished

P.S: I am really considering making videos on YouTube in the future to add another dimension to share with you all. I’m thinking hair and beauty. Let me know what you think! 🙂

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!

48 thoughts on “Crochet Micro Senegalese Twists

  1. I wanna try this! I get my twists done with marley hair, but I always have the pulling of the edges problem. Ive been considering doing crochet for a regular weave, or sewing the weave on a hair net so it wont be so tight. Whatever I choose, id like it to be as natural looking as possible. What do you think? (Btw, im in the mood for straight hair. I just dont wanna straighten mine)

    • Go for it! It’s the best protective style I’ve found so far that is easy on the edges. I think that if you’re going to get a sew in or regular weave crocheted, don”t use the net. You should just have synthetic hair added to your base braids to help reduce tension. Hope that helps! Let me know! 🙂

      • GURLLL, you have SOOO many ppl on FAcebook going crazy over this!! Great Job!! I will also do a lil experiment but with more hair to get the chunky affect. I believe Fashion-Plus news has shared your post. Check them out if you havent already! xoxo

  2. This is a great idea and I think I’m gonna try it myself. Only thing is I cant do my own hair lol soooooo I hope you add lots of detailed pics tomorrow. ♥

  3. I like this. I just did crochet braids not perfect but on my own. but some think I went old style. Lol but yours are so up to date. I don’t follow trends. But this is really cute

  4. First of all, this so dope!!

    Ok, so you’re braid pattern – was there a rhyme or reason to it?
    I notice that some of your braids are bigger than others, such as the one going down the back – do you crochet hair through that braid as well? I REALLY want to try this, so I’m trying to figure out everything. Thanks!!!!!

    • It was my first time doing these successfully and I didn’t have a specific braid pattern in mind. I would recommend smaller braids in the back – a comelier continuos s-pattern braid. I just didn’t have the patience to make mine smaller since I was doing it myself.

  5. Dont know if you are aware but I left comment on instagram but on Facebook u have 41k likes on your photo….simply beautiful! !!

  6. I really like how you created this style. I read some negative comments feed back on fb. but this is really intelligent. I tried the twisted in my daughter’s hair but just couldn’t get it together but this seems to be really easy. Thank you and make sure to post the video on YouTube before one of your “HATERS” bet you to it…Best of luck!!!!

    • Aww thank you! I don’t take the negative feedback personal, but I really appreciate positivity and encouragement, so thank you kindly. 🙂 I’ve been avoiding the YouTube thing for a while now since I didn’t muster up the courage (camera shy), but I’ve been really warming up to doing it soon now. I wish you luck with your daughter’s hair; it take some practice to do these. Remember, “the expert at anything was once a beginner.” -Helen Hayes

  7. Pingback: Crochet Micro Senegalese Twists | Kangopie

  8. This is amazing. I’m
    Going to try it on my dolls head. Thank you for uploading. I feel like I’ve won the lottery. Keep doing your thing.
    Luv chenna

  9. Hi, i notice you didn’t anchor the braids. You just pulled them through and started twisting. How did that work out for you? How long did it last like that? I’m wondering cause I’m attempting it right now. 🙂 Thanks for the post, it looks awesome! Keep it up!

    • Thank you!! It worked out fine for me since the hair is not loose hair or curly/wavy hair that I’m wearing out. my twists hold and the style is lasting very long. I am taking it out prematurely in February but I’m sure it could last a lot longer.

  10. This is so brilliant. My hair gets weak and breaks easily with singleton braids. I’ve just had my whole head done with cornrows first and kinky twists “crotcheted” in. Looks amazing, feels amazing. This is transformational. Will be trying it with regular 3 strand braids as well. Thanks for this.

  11. These are so awesome! I actually found this style by accident googling crochet braids and so glad I did. I have seborreheic dermatitis which is a skin/scalp disease that causes huge monster dandruff flakes. I did box braids and my drandruff flared up so bad the whole front of my scalp was a mess and had to take them out after only 2 weeks :(. Now I can wear braids/twist since this style hides most of the scalp! Thanks soooo much this is going to be a god send.

  12. Pingback: My crochet braid experience | Kangopie

  13. Pingback: My crochet braid experience - kangopie

Leave a Reply

