Crochet Micro Senegalese Twists – UPDATE!!!

Hello all!

Cheers to my first official new blog post of the New Year! =D

My year started off with a BANG! in the hair world. My crochet micro senegalese twists went viral, starting with @naturalhairdoescare on Instagram who reposted my partially done twists from New Years Eve/Day! From then on, a couple more hair and fashion pages reposted my picture. I had no idea that what I was doing was extraordinary or something special! I was definitely blown away and overwhelmed by all of the attention, especially because I am such an introvert. This attention sort of forced me out of my shell quite a bit. I received so many questions and comments, almost too much to keep up with. I also received requests for a YouTube tutorial on this style!

I had planned on getting on YouTube some time in the future and I was putting it off until I felt ready: equipped and prepared to put out quality videos. However, there was such a high demand for this style and I certainly felt the pressure, so I did it. 🙂 I guess I had to start at some point, some way, some how.

And here it is: Crochet Micro Senegalese Twists by Sarah Dee

Anyhow, I know I said I’d post a thorough update and pictures a while back before I got hit with the masses. Please forgive me for delaying and in advance for any redundancy in this post. Now that the extravaganza has plateaued, I will give a formal update. So here goes… (thoughts in random order):

Notes/Info

  • I used 4 and half packs of Xpressions brand kanekalon hair: colors 27 and 30.
  • I cut each pack in half and stretched the hair by pulling on the ends of the strands to make it uneven.
  • It took me 2 and a half days to complete.
  • The braid pattern I used was trial and error..total error. I would suggest straight back cornrows to avoid the bulkiness

Pros

  • Reduces tension and manipulation on hair and helps preserves edges from breakage and damage
  • Can last very long because natural hair is not twisted in strands and therefore the hair will not become frizzy
  • Can wear any color hair because it wouldn’t show your natural hair in the twists like regular senegalese twists
  • Versatile: can be styled or worn down
  • Easier to moisture hair and scalp simultaneously

Cons

  • Natural braids may show at edges (some may not consider this style versatile for that reason)
  • Can be heavy if too much hair is used
  • Tedious and time consuming method for installation

I plan to keep in this style only for a month and a half, and so far so good! (see image below) Oh!! P.S: I finally slapped some edge control on, LOL! It’s been a while, and I’ve been lazy with it and not liking the nasty effects and lack of staying-power, but that’s a story for another day!

Crochet Micro Senegalese Twists

Crochet Micro Senegalese Twists Mega Braided Bun

I hope you enjoyed and found this informative or helpful. If you still have questions, comment below and I’ll try to answer as best as I can. 🙂 xoxo

SOCIAL MEDIA
You can find me on YouTube at Sarah Dee
And on Instagram @coilssobeautiful

2 thoughts on “Crochet Micro Senegalese Twists – UPDATE!!!

  1. Hello Doll, would you like to enter a poll about natural hair? If yes, here is the question:
    What is your favorite shampoo & conditioner brand?
    To answer please click on the below link:
    http://islandkynks.wordpress.com/2014/01/15/hair-product-review-olive-clove-oil-therapy/
    Scroll below until you see the poll and answer one of the 4 options given by clicking on your favorite and voting.
    It´s free plus fun to see which brand natural girls prefer 😀
    Thank you so much for your participation and have a lovely day Beautiful!!
    Smiles!!!

  2. How long did this last for you? I’m finding that when I braid my hair it becomes very straight, so the longest I can keep any kind of cornrows in is about two weeks.

Leave a Reply

