MAC Makeup Haul!

IMG_5862

I finally invested in some great eyeshadow colors for everyday wear! I went to the MAC store to create a 15 color custom palette of primarily matte and neutral colors.

The purpose of this palette is for everyday wear by using different shades of brown to match my natural lid color, lighten it or darken it, depending on the look I am going for. Also, a few of the colors are meant to be transitioning colors to soften the edges of a bold look, or to add dimension to a look. I own a few other palettes too, but they are all shimmers and colors that aren’t meant for daytime/everyday wear. I carefully researched and decided on the colors in my palette before purchasing because this was an investment. I am satisfied with my color choices and have a use for each shade of brown. This palette now completes my eyeshadow collection and I will probably use it the most.

Here are the color names and swatches below:

Colors (left to right)

Row 1 – Brule, Soft Brown, Expensive Pink, Soba, Chrome Yellow
Row 2 – Rice Paper, Texture, Brown Script, Cork, Print
Row 3 – Arena, Saddle, Brown Down, Sumptuous Olive, Steamy

My MAC Custom 15 Color Palette

 

Swatches (left to right) – Brule, Soft Brown, Expensive Pink, Soba, Chrome Yellow, Rice Paper, Texture, Brown Script, Cork, Print, Arena, Saddle, Brown Down, Sumptuous Olive, Steamy

*The top half eye shadows are without a primer or a base, meanwhile, the bottom half has Smashbox Photo Finish Lid Primer underneath.

There isn’t much of a difference between the two in terms of pigmentation, density and true tone of the color. However, do keep in mind that this is picture taken and colors are not exactly true in images. Additionally, this was not taken in natural light. If you plan to purchase any of these colors, be sure to test them out on yourself.

photo-7

In the past I’ve bought and tried eye shadows in different shades of brown but when applied to my lid, would look grey, or sometimes wouldn’t show or look darker than it is in the pan. I have a Loreal quad of matte browns and highlight for an everyday look but it doesn’t show up on my skin with a true brown pigment. It almost seems like baby powder on my skin and the darkest color is a brown for cool undertones skin. I also have a Sephora 3 color wheel of browns and highlight and it is better quality version of the Loreal quad because it is also for cool undertones. These MAC colors on the other hand, are very pigmented and true to their color when applied to my lid; they are a perfect match for my warm yellow undertone and tan/light brown skin tone.

It was in February of this year that I realize that I my skin tone was warm with yellow/golden undertones. It is important to know, when it comes to foundation and neutral eye makeup, what colors are right for your skin tone. The benefit of higher end make up, especially eye shadows is that most likely, you are able to test them out before purchasing to see if they are a good match for your skin tone. I suggest going into one of your favorite make up stores to inquire about what make up best matches your skin tone and undertones, and also have fun testing out different shadows. After all, you want the best for your buck and to have a little fun shopping around. All in all, I probably won’t purchase eye shadows for a while until I run low, and I probably would be very hesitant to make my first stop the local drug store. Sometimes, investments are worth the money because it may save you a buck or two than the costly trial and errors of drugstore brands. Just my two cents. =)

 

xoxo
Sarahdee

 

Leave a Reply

