My Hair Routine – Seasonal Cycle

I’ve created a seasonal pattern with my hairstyles. Since I started wearing wigs, I found it to be easy and low maintenance.

{End of Fall- All of Winter – Beginning of Spring}

IMG_5917

Living on the East coast with harsh winter weather, I prefer to wear my wigs as my hat and helmet to my own natural hair. Natural hair, in my opinion, is not made to endure such brutal cold temperatures. The wigs protect my hair strands from the cold and dry air and also keep my head warm. Also, I don’t have to protective style my own hair with twist outs, etc. which often require water. Twist-out preparations can also be time consuming and messy; in the winter time, I can do without those two factors. Low maintenance, quick styling wigs are a win win situation in my book.

I like to begin wig wearing at the end of Fall because that is when the crisp cold winds begin to pick up. Sometimes I will opt for a protective style involving twists or braids, or even my natural hair in flat twists. But by the end of the fall season, I cease all twist outs and afros. Then all Winter long I continue to wear my wigs. And the beginning of Spring, I continue to wear my wigs and plan upcoming styles for my hair when it gets warmer. My routine is not at all rigid, sometimes I take off my wigs for an occasion where I need to style my natural hair into a bun or updo which lasts for as long as a week before I put my wig back on.

Also, when it comes to the lengthy wearing of a wig, I make sure to wash my hair and scalp once every week and a half to two weeks. It is important to have a clean scalp because buildup will block your scalp from properly breathing and promoting growth. An unclean scalp can probably lead to bacteria scalp infections, mold, hair fall out and some other nasty stuff. (don’t quote me, do your research) So, I make sure that my scalp is cleansed often because a healthy scalp helps grow healthy hair.

 

{Mid Spring – All of Summer – Beginning of Fall}

IMG_4407

This is my favorite time, when it’s warm, because I can finally wear my hair out! The air is moist and temperature is warmer. My hair and scalp love both of those things. I can take my time to style my natural hair and this is the time where I bring out the twist outs and afro. This is when I most excited about the new growth acquired from the protective styling, low maintenance seasons. This is when I can wet my hair whenever and as often as I want. This is when I am obsessed with my hair! =D

So there goes… My Hair Routine for the seasons. I am sure a lot of naturals have something similar going on in their routines as well. And if you didn’t know what to do for the seasons, well I hope I helped you gained some routine inspiration from above!

 

x0x0
Sarahdee

One thought on “My Hair Routine – Seasonal Cycle

Leave a Reply

