NEW Product Alert!! Shea Moisture: JBCO Strengthen, Grow & Restore Edge Treatment

20140813-105705-39425852.jpg

I recently purchased this from my local CVS store. It goes for about $10.99 but I got a slight discount of a dollar or two off, with my handy dandy CVS coupons. 😉 I already have and love some products from the Shea Moisture brand so I did not hesitate to purchase and try this product at all. Also it was the last one on the shelf so…had to get it. I’ve used it a few times now since purchasing it. Although it hasn’t been long enough to see major results, I can still give my first impression which I hope can help you all.

I’ll start with the consistency; it is like a science project gone bad, lol. It took me by surprised when I opened the jar. It is like a semi-solid, transparent jelly that is almost crystal-like and comes out in chunk form when trying to use it. It isn’t easy to scoop up some product for use because it’s in one compact blob so you kinda have to dig at a piece. Idk, maybe I got a bad jar? It was the last jar, as you know. Anyhow, that didn’t kill the experience for me per se. I love the smell. It is a sweet smell and very mild, not overbearing or lasting. It is faint and it fades away. When I apply the product on my edges, it instantly dissolves or melts onto my hair/scalp where applied. It looks a bit greasy like thick castor oil. It is enough to combat the frix of my baby hairs. And I appreciate the concoction of natural and beneficial ingredients. I would prefer to use this over edge control because it doesn’t flake nor cause build-up like a lot of edge controls do. My hairs lay softly and tamed.

The reason I prefer this over edge control is because this is something I would use daily. I cannot use edge control daily to harden my edges and potentially break them, cause, build-up, white cast, or flaking. I hardly use edge controls nowadays. I’ve tried so many and discarded some too. Edge control is something I would use on occasions and on special occasions for hairstyles that I want to be slicked down. My hair and edges are certainly not laid every day. My everyday hair is something I like to keep clean for as long as possible and not have to wash out and reapply daily or multiple times per week. This is just my personal preference. So, that is why my initial impression is to appreciate this product. I will consider it my clean and mild daily edge carer. 🙂 I made that up, but it is fitting to how I utilize this product. I have a lot of essential oils and butters, etc that I can create my own concoction, but I like that this is a small portable jar that I can travel with. And I am not sure that I can make anything close to this that would keep my edges tamed and soft for most of the day without running down my face. So for now I will give this product a 4-star rating since I am still in the initial stages of trying it, and I never give anything 5 stars unless… I would have to be speechless about it to give it 5 stars, lol. So, to have 4 stars is the best it can get with any product right now.

Has anyone else tried this product? Since it is fairly new, I haven’t found ample reviews or extra details about it, so let me know your thoughts!

 

xoxo

3 thoughts on “NEW Product Alert!! Shea Moisture: JBCO Strengthen, Grow & Restore Edge Treatment

Leave a Reply

