Natural Hair Product Haul!!! Plus Hair Straightening Systems talk

IMG_2061.JPG

So today I went to Target looking for Shea Moisture’s straightening kit and lo and behold, there was a SALE!!! My two natural hair favorite products, Shea Moisture, and Kinky Curly, were having a sale at Target. I got hair products and my favorite body washes.

IMG_2050.JPG

This product below was something I stumbled upon online, while researching another Shea Moisture Product I purchased last weekend, the JBCO Strengthen, Grow and Restore Edge Treatment. I read a few reviews and saw a couple YouTube videos of natural trying it. There were mixed reviews. Some said it made their hair straight like a perm and didn’t revert, others said it loosened their curl pattern and elongated their curls, others said the effects didn’t last too long because their hair frizzed up in heat and reverted back after getting wet. Since there are no consistent outcomes that I’ve come across yet, I will continue to observe before I put this in my hair and regret it.

The reason I purchased it in the first place is because it seemed a lot milder than other hair manageability systems. Also, a lot of the natural ingredients and compounds I recognize, so that helped ease concerns for me. To be on the safe side, I would try the conditioner from the line first (included in the kit, but I purchased the regular size separately) because it seems like the conditioner does good work on its own combating frizz and defining curls, from the reviews I’ve read about it.

 

My take on this new boom of Natural Hair Straightening and Manageability systems:

It seems as though a lot of brands are creating these systems. At first I was critical of them when they first emerged because I felt as though it was defeating the purpose of being natural. I thought of these systems as a milder form of a perm or texturizer without the harsh chemicals–a perm in sheep’s clothing. I was skeptical about these systems and disappointed in natural hair companies for creating these systems to again, alter our natural texture slightly, to be more manageable. Eventually, I cam around and warmed up to researching it. I realize that some people may actually WANT that help with their hair, and there’s nothing wrong with that. At that time, I didn’t. I wanted to appreciate my natural hair for what it was and learn to care for it as it. Today, I still don’t want the help of a straightening system, but I feel differently about purchasing anyway. What I want, it to explore and try something, in hope that it WILL revert back at some point. And if it doesn’t I’m okay with big chopping again, wearing protective styles, growing it out, etc. I purchased this product as not to run from managing my natural hair but to take a further step in styling it.

One of the biggest reasons I returned to being natural is to learn to love my ORIGINAL-self, and I think I’ve accomplished that. I am comfortable in my skin and with my natural hair. I am comfortable in public even with a bad natural hair day. I am currently rocking two strand twists pinned up at work. I feel very physically unattractive currently but it does not knock my confidence. I would look in the mirror and laugh at myself with myself, that’s how okay I am with being this way. I still love me. So with that being said, I didn’t buy this product to run from managing my hair as is; I bought it for fun, to explore and try versatile styles. What matters most to me, is that my hair is healthy. No longer am I on a journey to natural hair. I have arrived. I have arrived to my destination–that emotional feeling within that exudes self-confidence. I have arrived to where I needed to be, as a black woman in this twisted society that strongly influences the definition of beauty. I have arrived and I am at peace. I accept myself as beautiful, no outside validation needed. 😉

 

IMG_2052.JPG

Leave a Reply

